Archive for November, 2010

Passenger- Wide Eyes Blind Love

Posted by admin on 3rd November 2010

  • Band / Artist : PassengermySpace
  • Genre : Indie / Rock
  • Sample Track Download : N/A
  • Buy CD :N/A
  • Buy Digital Download : iTunes
  • Rating : 9 out of 10

I purchased this album, during my hiatus away from reviewing music and to some degree, it re-energised me, urging me to spread the word. To anyone familiar with Indie Launchpad, you will probably remember my more than enthusiastic review of the bands previous album, “Wicked Man’s Rest”. To some degree, this album is more of the same, but with a more acoustic, striped back feel.

The album opens with “Last Unicorn”, a song that upon hearing for the first time, I knew instinctively this was going to be an amazing album. There is incredible expression and emotion in Mike Rosenberg’s vocals, that draw you in, like an expert story teller, recalling the story of their life. The minimalist accompaniment works very well, and runs like a deep vein throughout the album. “What Will Become of Us”, has some wonderful lyrics, as well as some quite beautiful, but very subtle vocal accompaniment. It is one of several songs on the album, that I find myself strongly drawn to. As one song finishes and the next begins, there is a great continuity. Much of this is probably due to the basic production, but it also has a lot to do with the songs themselves. The transition between, “Is See Love” and “Rainbows” is effortless. “Caravan” is another of the songs that really struck a chord with me. In particular the beautiful lyrics. There is also a whistling respite in the song, that you just can’t help trying to replicate, like Otis Reading’s, “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay”. “Wide Eye” is in effect the title track, albeit one side of it, as the album title is a combination of two tracks that appear on the album.

“Underwater Bride” has a very fragile feel. The vocals are fractured, with a hint of desolation and despair. As I find a lot of the time, one mans despair is another man’s beauty. There’s something I can’t help but find beautiful in someone elses misery. “Strarlings” has an altogether different feel, reminding me to some degree of acoustic artists of the 70’s. While this was a very interesting and fertile time, this track can’t help but feel to me, a little out of place. It’s also a tad over one minute thirty, so has little time to redeem itself. “Blind Love” is the second half of the album title along with “Wide Eyes” and the old magic has returned. The album closes with “Snowflakes”, which for some reason has a very North American Indian feel to it. Yes I’m probably as far left of centre as I can be, but I can’t help how my mind works.

Conclusion : A truly wonderful album, that is certainly worth purchasing along with the bands other album, “Wicked Man’ Rest”. It’s certainly a more reflective album, but it just works so well. Outstanding.

Posted in Acoustic, Alternative, Folk | No Comments »

The Mieka Canon – From the Mouth of Paris

Posted by admin on 2nd November 2010

  • Band / Artist : The Mieka CanonmySpace
  • Genre : Alternative / Rock
  • Sample Track Download : N/A
  • Buy CD : N//A
  • Buy Digital Download : Band Store
  • Rating : 7.5 out of 10

While The Mieka Canon may not be familiar to many, Meika Pauley, who forms one fith of the band, was reviewed as a solo artist back in 2006. Her vocals on this 4 track EP are unmistakable, but there is a much fuller sound, in comparison to her solo EP. Opening with “Faster”, there’s a great sense of cock assuredness, with Mieka’s vocals, who really comes across as very self assured and not afraid to push herself. “We’re All Gonna Die”, has a much rockier sound, but that underpinning of Mieka’s volcas is still there, which lifts an otherwise uninspring song. This EP seems to be dipping it’s toe in many different musical pools. “Colossal”, while again a nice track, kind of fails to ignite, but thanks to Mieka’s vocals, is able to lift itself from humdrum.

The EP closes with “That Golden Room” a much calmer song and my favourite on the EP. You can’t help but be impressed with Mieka’s full, rich sound, which reminds me a little of Elkie Brooks, who was in Vinegar Joe, with Robert Palmer and also a popoular solo artist in the 70’s.

Conclusion : An enjoyable EP, that is not afraid to experiment a little. While it doesn’t jump out at you, it’s still an enjoyable listen.

Posted in Alternative, Rock | No Comments »